Latest News and Media

NZMACI tauira graduation 2018

23 August 2019

A celebration of all their hard work and achievements, this was a proud moment for the 2018 graduating class.


The ceremony started with a pōhiri (welcome ceremony) and concluded in the Te Toki exhibition space, where the finest pieces of students’ work were displayed.


The commemoration was particularly meaningful for Te Rito (The National Weaving School), which saw its first intake of students graduate. In the past, the chance to learn the art of Māori weaving was only offered under strict conditions; however, today the protocol has somewhat relaxed and tauira have the opportunity to learn and explore the traditional Māori art and craft of weaving.  


The graduation ceremony also recognised the 43rd class of graduates from Te Wānanga Whakairo Rākau o Aotearoa (The National Wood Carving School), which saw its first intake in 1967. Here young Māori from iwi (tribes) throughout New Zealand have been taught the Māori practice of wood carving under expert guidance of renowned master carvers, who were once trainees at the school. Te Takapū o Rotowhio (The National Stone and Bone Carving School) saw its sixth class of graduates.


Congratulations to all of our graduates:


Te Rito | The National Weaving School

Khali Ngāpera Haitana

Para Josephine Riria Matenga


Te Wānanga Whakairo Rākau o Aotearoa | The National Wood Carving School

Penetehuki Panapa

Hēmi Te Puhi Rangi Rivers Thompson

Daytona Te Awarehe Taputu

Te Takapū o Rotowhio | The National Stone and Bone Carving School

Hikurangi Tikitiki Orangi Mangu


In addition to celebrating our graduating tauira and wishing them well for their future endeavours, NZMACI also welcomed 12 new tauira. We are excited for the second intake of Te Rito, seventh intake of Te Takapū o Rotowhio and 44th intake of Te Wānanga Whakairo Rākau o Aotearoa.


Welcome to:


Te Rito

Waitangi Marks - Rotorua

Awatea Paterson - Rotorua

Rangitiaria Rika - Rotorua

Lorita Rikiti – Rotorua


Te Takapū o Rotowhio

Houston Pekin - Gisborne

Iwi Le Comte - Rotorua

Tāne Singh-Lagah - Rotorua


Te Wānanga Whakairo Rākau o Aotearoa

Lloyd Morgan - Rotorua

Isaiah Karaitiana - Rotorua

Sidney Tamati- Rotorua

Troy Harbottle - Huntly

Haimona Seymour – Invercargill

To learn more about the schools, click here: